Injury

I was scheduled to run 13.1 miles last weekend.  I was really pumped for that run going into it.  I was excited to see how much I’ve improved (if I did at all) since my last half marathon in October.  I felt really good about it while I was running.  I was about to set a new personal record (PR).  I was on pace to beat my Baltimore time by about 3 minutes.  That is, until mile 12.  I injured my right foot somewhere around 7.  It wasn’t anything serious at first.  It was just painful enough for me to notice something was wrong, but still not painful enough to affect me in any way so I kept going.  Then, at the end of the 12th mile I suddenly got light-headed and dizzy.  It felt harder to breathe and all of that combined with the growing pain in my foot forced me to stop the run early.  I didn’t like that , not one bit.  I wanted that run.  Getting a PR now would’ve been a great confidence booster going into ultimate tryouts next weekend.  In that respect I had mixed feeling about the result of that run.  At first, I was really upset and disappointed that I had to stop with only 1 mile left to go.  I was upset that I had my new PR ripped away from me.  As I walked that last mile home I focused on finding positive things about my effort.  I decided that the abbreviated run could actually be better than the confidence boost I was originally looking for.  I had undeniably shown a solid amount of improvement.  I now know that I can beat my previous half marathon time, and gave me confidence.  The fact that I still haven’t beaten it yet, though, has left me frustrated and hungry for more.  It is this drive that I will bring to future workouts.  It is this “hunger” that I must bring to tryouts.  I now know what I can do, but I still need to prove that I am as good as I think I am.

I got my first chance to start proving myself this past Friday night / Saturday morning.  Throughout much of the week my right foot hurt enough to give me pain just while walking, so I stayed off my feet as much as possible.  I didn’t like cancelling workouts all week, but I knew I’d be better off in the long run if I took the time to nurse my injury now so I could continue running later.  Anyway, this weekend I played in the 4th annual Mercer Midnight Madness ultimate frisbee tournament.  After sitting around all week, my foot was finally starting to feel better and I was itching to play.  I went into the night expecting to have limited playing time.  I didn’t want to push myself to the point that I aggravated my foot injury any more.  As it turned out, I felt great!  I had maybe a handful of painful steps throughout the night which was major progress from last weekend.  I was very pleased with my performance overall.  We played 5 games between the hours midnight and 6:30 am and finished with a 3-2 record.  I didn’t feel very tired until the last game.  There were a few players in the tournament that I know tried out for (and probably made) the new New Jersey Hammerheads team (AUDL), and I made sure to cover those players as much as possible.  They were my benchmark for the night.  I was pleased to find that I was very comparable to those players in every way.  I didn’t have any trouble keeping up with them and giving them a run for their money.  This certainly helped to foster confidence for me as I gear up to try out for the new Philadelphia Phoenix (AUDL) team next weekend.

As it stands right now, my foot feel good.  I’m ready to get back to work.  The good thing about my marathon training plan is that I took a 16 week program and adjusted it to 18 weeks, so I wasn’t knocked off track by resting this week with my injury.  I plan on going full throttle this week with my eyes set on a spot on the Phoenix roster.

What's on your mind?

