Winter is Coming

I’m officially done with single digit mileage as far as my Saturday morning long runs are concerned.  Yesterday I completed a 10 mile run and rewarded myself with a tasty little Christmas brew from Rogue called Santa’s Private Reserve.

621850_10151358818145586_841531131_o

I felt I needed it after putting myself through all the cold of the morning.  I woke up Saturday morning dreading this run before I even got out of bed.  It wasn’t the 10 mile goal for the day that made me want to stay buried under my covers.  I’ve gone that distance before.  It was the cold that bothered me.  The air temperature outside was a whopping 30 F!  It kind of made me wish this winter was as mild as last winter was for us in PA.  I found myself arguing with myself a little  bit with a sort of “I don’t want to, but I need to” mentality.  Long story short, I did eventually make it outside.

I think the best clothing decision I made was wearing a hoodie.  I usually try not to wear heavy clothes when I run, because my body is obviously going to warm itself up naturally the longer I’m out there, but the ground was frosty white as far as I could see.  I mean, come on now.  If I’m going to force myself to be out there, I should at least try to stay warm, right?  The only part I wish could have worked out better was that I couldn’t hold my water bottle in the hoodie pouch.  Having the bottle constantly slap against my thighs (I was wearing a big hoodie) with every stride was just plain annoying.  It did come in handy to help warm up my hands, though (excuse the pun).

Once I got myself out on the trail I was fine.  At that point I feel like I have to run.  What else am I going to do?  Walk back home and curl up in my bed?  Too easy.  I was pleasantly surprised by the number of people out running at the same time I was.  I must have seen about 20 people in the 80 minutes I was out and each time I thought to myself, “Glad to see I’m not the only idiot out here.”  To put things a little more into perspective for you the surface of the creek was frozen at the shallow parts!  Now, I know what you’re saying, “Don’t be such a baby.  It was only a thin layer of frost.”  Even still, if it’s cold enough outside that a moving body water can freeze and I’m still willingly training outside there might be something wrong with me.

Eventually, the Starks are always right.  Winter is coming, and I have a feeling that it’s going to become more and more difficult for me to will myself out onto the trail as we get deeper into winter.  I mean this was just morning frost.  What am I going to do when it starts snowing?  I’m confident that I’ll always get out there.  I may or may not complain about it more.  Call it stubbornness, call it stupidity, call it what you will, but I vow to keep running through the winter.

Has anyone else used weather conditions as a means to help training?  How did it go?

One response to “Winter is Coming

What's on your mind?

