Slacker

The title of this post pretty much sums up my feelings on the past week of training.  Last week, I skipped all three of my strength training workouts as well as my Saturday morning long run.  I went out with a few friends in West Chester on Friday night.  We had a good time singing, dancing, and drinking.  I didn’t drink much myself.  I volunteered myself to be the DD that night, because I wanted to make sure I would be able to wake up feeling alright for my run Saturday morning.  That was until we got home at 3 am.  My alarm went off at 6:30 am like it does six days a week.  I got up, went to the bathroom, and decided “I’m too tired.  I’m not going to get anything out of running like this.” and I went back to bed.  I woke again at 10 am thinking, “Alright, I’m going to give myself a little time to wake up and then I’m out the door.”  That turned into a nap on the couch with the TV on.  By the time noon rolled around I started telling myself  that one missed run wasn’t going to kill me.  I still hold to that belief, but I just hate giving up those long distance runs.  They’re so crucial to building endurance.

Saturday night was another crazy fun time involving much liquor, music, and some nachos that were just “too good.”  We were jamming out on guitars, pianos, drums, and anything else we could get our hands on.  Sunday, then, was another day of relaxation for me as I skipped another workout to watch the Eagles win for the first time in two months.  Now, I’m back on the horse, and today’s four miles felt great!  This run was definitely a much needed stress reliever after my horrible day at work, but that’s for a different conversation.

One thing I did find interesting about the past week was the one mile time trial I ran on Thursday.  Obviously, the goal is to run one mile as fast as you can.  The fastest mile I’ve ever run was 6:19 back in early July.  On Thursday, I ran a 6:47 mile.  At the time I was very disappointed in myself for having slowed down almost a whole 30 seconds.  However, looking back on that run it was nothing like the first time trial I ran in July.  July is warm.  There was probably a slight breeze with cool air coming off the lake I ran next to.  December is cold.  It’s a lot harder to breathe in the cold.  I felt out of breath very quickly Thursday night.  Maybe I started out too fast, but I feel like the cold air had a lot to with it.  At the time I thought to myself that I should have run that trial on Tuesday when it was 60 degrees outside (it was 40 F on Thursday).  I’m actually kind of glad I ran it in the cold, though.  I mean it’s only December.  The air is only going to get colder.  Now I know what it feel like to contend with the colder air and feel shorter of breath.  I think if I can find a way to cope with the colder temperatures now and learn how to breathe stronger while running through the winter, then maybe that will help me to be a stronger runner in the spring, summer, and fall months when the air is warmer.  Dick’s Sporting Goods has a TV ad now that says “Champions are made in the winter.” (advertising winter apparel)  Maybe it’s time I test that theory out…

What's on your mind?

