Let there be light!

Well, folks, I’ve only had this blog for a month, and I’ve already started slacking on my posts.  Who won the over-under bet?

The biggest news of the past week (in terms of my training) is that I bought a headlight.  I bought the Sprinter model from Black Diamond.  I’ve used it twice so far and I’m really enjoying it.  I’m no longer hindered by the lack of daylight outside, nor am I strictly limited to running under the lights on the track anymore.  Even on the densely tree-covered trail running by near my house, I’m able to see the world very clearly with my new headlight.  It’s like having my own personal moon following me around to light my way at night.  No more fear of the dark here!  This truly is a significant piece of tech for me because of the long history I have with ankle injuries.  Now I can be completely sure of where I’m putting my feet on those night runs.

Is there any gear you feel has significantly changed your workouts?

Anyway, my life has been sort of busy these past few days with work and Christmas shopping (almost done!) and decorating my first Christmas tree, etc.  There isn’t going to be very much detail in this post.  My long run this past Saturday was 9 miles.  It was pretty uneventful.  I was wondering if I might have had a chance to meet someone new on the trail that morning, but it seemed I was the only one crazy enough to be out running at 7:30 am.  It is a little exciting that I’ll soon be saying “bye-bye” to single digit mileage on my Saturday morning runs.

Good night, good luck, and be well.

What's on your mind?

