I Got a Little Lost…

I haven’t posted anything in a little while, so I thought now would be a good time.  I’m now into my week 2 of 18 for my training.  My lower body was uncomfortably sore for much of last week after my Tuesday strength workout.  Speed work is a bit more difficult when you start it off with sore legs.  Anyway, I stuck with the plan I described in my last post through that first week.  I took a half day off from work on Friday so I could go to Atlantic City with Cassie and Sam to see Megadeth perform at the House of Blues (Excellent show, by the way!).  Before we left for AC, I took advantage of the daylight (I don’t see much of it anymore) by running the trail near my house for 3 miles.

I spent the night at Cassie’s house with her family that night rather than driving an extra hour back to my house at 1:30 am.  After a whopping 5 hours of sleep I was up again for my first Saturday training run.  Since the race I’m training for is scheduled to start at 7:30 am I figure I should get myself ready to run that early.  What better way to train for a 7:30 am start time than to start as many training runs as I can at 7:30?  Most of these will end up being Saturday runs since I work 40 hrs a week, but 1 early run per week is better than none.  I grew up very close to the town Cassie lives in, but I’d never really spent much time in her area before.  I made the mistake of forgetting to plan out a route to run before I went out.  Let me rephrase that.  It never crossed my mind that I probably should have planned out my route beforehand.  I was content with just going out and making it up as I went.  I could have easily just run down the street for 2.5 miles and then come back the way I came to make my 5 mile quota, but that would’ve been boring.  Instead, I turned off into various neighborhoods.  I didn’t realize at first that every neighborhood near her house is connected to each other at some random point.  For a while I just took every right turn I came to.  Instead of this action forming a circle, it took me deeper and deeper into neighborhoods I’d never been to before.  Soon, some places that I thought were familiar really weren’t and other places that actually were familiar had no sidewalk or shoulder left on the road and I didn’t want to run with the cars.  I eventually made it back to her house, but the search for the correct way back ended up adding almost an extra mile to my trip.

Lesson learned: I’m not good at making things up on the fly.

What's on your mind?

