The First Steps to Greatness

Bruised, beaten, and sore I took to the track at Ursinus College tonight to run my first of many workouts for the winter.  I took a beginner level marathon training plan from The Big Book of Marathon and Half-Marathon Training (published by Runners’ World) and modified it a little bit.  The standard training program for a full marathon, regardless of intensity level, is 16 weeks long.  I want to spend some more time getting ready for this race since it’ll be my first 26.2, so I tweaked the program a little to take full advantage of the 18 weeks I have left before race day.

The general trend I’ve decided to follow is this:

Monday – short distance (big emphasis on speed work)

Tuesday – lower body strength training

Wednesday – medium distance (mild emphasis on speed work)

Thursday – core strength training

Friday – short distance (easy run)

Saturday – long distance (goal race pace)

Sunday – upper body strength training

So, today I ran a total of 3 miles with 10 x 200 m sprints included in that distance.  Thankfully, all the soreness I accumulated in my hamstrings, thighs, and glutes over the weekend seemed to disappear when I got myself going.  I’m going to have to figure out some sort of lighting situation for myself soon, though.  It’s getting very dark very early this time of year, and while the UC track does have ample lighting, a winter filled with nothing bu track workouts is no way to train for a marathon.  I’m also thinking of growing out my beard this winter, too.  I grew it out for 2 months in the fall semester of my junior year of college, mainly out of laziness.  I remember it was really effective for keeping my face warm.  Two months of growth on my face did get to be a little gross, however.  For that reason, I’m not sure I want to grow it out the full 18 weeks leading up to race day.  Does anyone have any suggestions on how I could maybe use an epic beard like that to raise money for charity?  I think if my beard were to be put toward a charity fundraiser I’ll be much more likely to let it grow all the way through my training.

What's on your mind?

